ekskursii.by

Excursions across Belarus - Belarusian excursion portal

Check request

Epiphany convent in Polock

To book a tour
Type: Monasteries Style: Baroque Date of Foundation: 1 century Status: Republican value Republic of Belarus, Vitebsk region, Polock, Lenin st, 24

Epiphany convent in Polock was founded in 1582 and many years to become a major center of Orthodoxy in Polock. Training and Education here were not only religious. The children of the Orthodox gentry, churchmen, artisans and merchants were studied Slavic, Greek, Latin languages, singing, rhetoric, arithmetic. At school there was a brotherly way called the school theater. Brotherhood of anything not want to give Jesuit College, trying to compete with him in the education and formation of Polock young people. In the second half of XVII century in the sister school of the monastery was a teacher Simeon Polockij.

At the beginning of the XVII century a fire destroyed the wooden structure monastery, and in 1633 Oginski Dukes set aside funds for the construction of a new monastery and a wooden church which was dedicated in honor of Epiphany has also been built, ”a school for children of Christian Science.” New fire in 1757 destroyed all over the monastery buildings. In 1761 was also a new stone church, the cathedral was consecrated on August 5, 1777.

Epiphany Church today is a cross-domed church. Church completed a high light reel with a spherical dome. In the western part of the temple at the entrance - with the choirs of forged decorative fence. Preserved frescoes, wall paintings in tempera of the second half of XVIII century, scenic three-meter figures of three saints.

Residential building L-shaped in plan. In the east wing of his monks” cells were located, the room for the abbot, at the corner of the case were two warm church - St.Evfrosinya and St. Catherina. The monastery complex is monument of baroque architecture to elements of classicism. It is believed that the construction of the monastery was used in the XVIII century project is the famous St. Petersburg architect Giacomo Quarenghi.

In the years of Soviet power in the building of the temple was a gym. After restoration in 1981 in the Church of the Epiphany almost 10 years has been an art gallery. In 1991 the church passed the Orthodox diocese and is now the Cathedral of Polock diocese. As a former fraternal body is now a museum of Belarusian book printing and Museum and Library Simeon Polockij. In the museum of printing readers conferences are held, and meetings with Belarusian writers.

reveal all text

Group excursions - Epiphany convent in Polock

Prices:

Date Tour More places Price adult Price child up to 18 years Additional information
09:00 25-July (Thursday) Polotsk The group is in progress 2'600 2'465
meals
Book
09:00 22-August (Thursday) Polotsk The group is in progress 2'600 2'465
meals
Book

Individual and corporate excursions - Epiphany convent in Polock

Location map - Epiphany convent in Polock

Address Republic of Belarus, Vitebsk region, Polock, Lenin st, 24 GPS Google: 55.483867′ N, 28.768803′ E

ekskursii.by

Экскурсии по Беларуси – Белорусский экскурсионный портал

Проверить заявку

Полоцкий Богоявленский монастырь

Заказать экскурсию
Тип: Монастыри Стиль: барокко Дата основания: 1 век Статус: Республиканского значения Республика Беларусь, Витебская обл., г. Полоцк, ул. Ленина, 24

Богоявленский монастырь был основан в 1582 году и на многие годы стал главным центром православия в Полоцке. Обучение и образование здесь носили не только религиозный характер. Дети православной шляхты, церковников, ремесленников и купцов изучали славянский, греческий, латинский языки, пение, риторику, арифметику. При братской школе существовал так называемый школьный театр. Братство ни в чем не хотело уступать иезуитскому коллегиуму, пытаясь соперничать с ним в просвещении и образовании полоцкой молодежи. Во второй половине XVII в. в братской школе при монастыре работал преподавателем Симеон Полоцкий.

В начале XVII века пожар уничтожил деревянные строения обители, и в 1633 году князья Огинские выделили средства на строительство нового монастыря и возведение деревянной церкви, которую освятили в честь Богоявления Господня, была также построена «школа для науки детям христианским». Новый пожар 1757 года снова уничтожил все монастырские постройки. В 1761 году была заложена новая каменная церковь, собор был освящен 5 августа 1777 года.

Богоявленская церковь сегодня представляет собой крестово-купольный одноапсидный храм с двумя одноярусными башнями на западном фасаде. Завершается церковь высоким световым барабаном со сферическим куполом. В западной части храма над входом – хоры с кованной декоративной оградкой. Сохранились росписи, настенная живопись в технике темперы второй половины XVIII в., живописные трехметровые фигуры трех святителей.

Жилой корпус Г-образный в плане. В восточном крыле его размещались кельи монахов, помещение для игумена, в угловой части корпуса было две теплые церкви – св. Екатерины и св. Евфросиньи. Комплекс монастыря является памятником архитектуры барокко с элементами классицизма. Предполагают, что при строительстве монастыря был использован в XVIII в. проект известного петербургского зодчего Джакомо Кваренги.

В годы советской власти в здании храма был спортзал.  После реставрации с 1981 г. в церкви Богоявления почти 10 лет была картинная галерея. В 1991 г. храм передан православной епархии и теперь является кафедральным собором Полоцко-Глубокской епархии. В здании бывшего братского корпуса сейчас находится Полоцкий музей белорусского книгопечатания и Музей-библиотека Симеона Полоцкого. В музее книгопечатания проводятся читательские конференции и встречи с белорусскими литераторами.

раскрыть весь текст

Групповые сборные экскурсии - Полоцкий Богоявленский монастырь

Цены в:

Дата Экскурсия Осталось мест Цена взрослые Цена дети до 18 лет Дополнительная информация
09:00 31-Октября (Четверг) Полоцк Собирается группа 2'572 2'379
питание
Заказать

Индивидуальные и корпоративные экскурсии - Полоцкий Богоявленский монастырь

Расположение на карте - Полоцкий Богоявленский монастырь

Адрес Республика Беларусь, Витебская обл., г. Полоцк, ул. Ленина, 24 GPS Google: 55.483867′ N, 28.768803′ E